Chicken house “recycled”

Posted: June 15, 2011 by hopejoyandfaithfarm in Uncategorized

First off, I want to apologize for being a day late in posting this.  I got busy with sheep shearing and garden planting and spaced.  I’m sorry.

We built our chicken house about a year and a half ago.  We had to buy some new plywood and framing material, but most of it was built from leftover wood we had around and we used the neighbors old thrown away metal roofing.

We also used an old window that we took out of the pile we had fro the green house and the door off of our old manufactured home.

The inside we furnished with a rack of nest boxes made of plastic milk crates.  They are great.  The open bottoms allow the old hay to sift down and fall on the ground to be swept up, instead of keeping the poop and dust in with the eggs.

 

We also made the roosts out of fallen tree branches.  They are round, which allows the chickens to comfortably roost at night and we didn’t have to worry chemicals in the wood, etc.  Yes, they might rot faster than treated wood, but a walk up our mountain will give us a brand new supply.

You don’t have to build or buy fancy stuff for your chickens to use.   You can be a bit “trashy” and save some money

Comments
  1. emphelan says:

    Nesting boxes look very cool, almost artsy.

  2. Linda Rolen says:

    I’d like more details on how you built nesting boys from milk crates. Where you cut them, stack them, how they are contained togeter, roand the roof you used. I think this is a good idea for me to use, and I can’t wait to hear from you. Below is my email if you will email information to me. Thank you and k love your website.
    Sincerely,
    Linda Rolen
    windtoucherlr@gmail.com

  3. Peggy Cooper says:

    I have never had chickens before but I really wanted some so my husband fenced in an area an built me a hen house and I love it. I love to watch them scratch and the way they run!!!They are so amusing. I appreciate all the ideas that everyone has posted, I don’t know much about taking care of them so I’m going to try that recipes for the disinfectant.

  4. GangStar Gamer says:

    Very informative and interesting your website

Leave a comment