Reuse old sweaters….

Posted: March 9, 2011 by kelleinmt in Crafts, wearables
Tags: ,

A recycling tip and “handy” to have around
If you have wool sweaters that are wearing out, have moth damage, or you accidentally shrank, don’t throw them out, recycle them into mittens. I saw a video not to long ago on “You Tube” about how to make these and started digging out old wool sweaters( Mike had one that was to small and we were given two others with moth damage) First step is to wash then in cold water( so colors don’t run) and dry in a hot dryer to shrink the wool.

Then you simply trace your hand adding about 1/2″ to 3/4 ” seam allowance. Pin this pattern to sweater and cut both layers at one time.

Now turn them right sides together and stitch using a small, stretch zigzag stitch.

The black pair is finished. You turned right side out again, the print pair is next on the list to be stitched.


Here is how they look on and they will keep your hands warm, although not sure how snow and below zero temps will affect them.

The print pair finished and turned right side out, aren’t they nice :o) I’m proud of myself, as I am self taught on sewing and it is basic to say the least!

So those of your who are creative, let your minds go to work and recycle those sweaters( wool is best and be sure to shrink it down by washing and drying in a hot dryer before you begin)

The possibilities are endless; hats, slippers, scarves, etc….

Comments
  1. Marina says:

    It isn’t wool, but I’m repurposing the sleeves of an old sweater into armwarmers/fingerless gloves. I need to dig that project out and finish them before the weather gets too warm.

  2. Judy says:

    Couldn’t you just turn the sweater inside out to begin with (before you trace and cut) so you can save the step of turning them right sides together? I’m always one for time and stress saving and I HATE having to line things up again after taking them apart.
    Great idea, though. I”ve got a sweater in mind….. You can never have too many mittens around- especially with children who tend to borrow them.

    Love the site- I’ll be back.

    • kelleinmt says:

      You certainly could and your idea makes better sense too! I’m no seamstress, so I sometimes get flustered when it comes to sewing projects.
      Again thanks for sharing your wonderful idea*wink*

  3. Matriarchy says:

    Great idea. I am looking for more things to do with old wool sweaters, and this works for smaller ones. I have enough arm warmers, and I am not patient enough to unravel and reknit. We did make muckluck slippers – we used an old leather purse to make the soles and shaped the sleeves into sock-like things.

    I am looking forward to this blog.

  4. Here’s a link to my blog to make slippers from wool sweaters. I LOVE them.
    http://www.joscountryjunction.com/?p=3408

  5. prvira.com says:

    Hi, i think that i saw you visited my blog thus i got here
    to return the desire?.I am trying to to find things to improve my site!I assume
    its adequate to make use of some of your concepts!!

Leave a Reply

