Winner of Book Contest Giveaway!

Posted: June 20, 2011 by hopejoyandfaithfarm in Uncategorized

Congrats to Cody, winner of the book “Back to Basics”. I’m posting it for Erin because she is still having internet connection issues…

Here is Cody’s winning submission on trashiness! Some great ideas here!

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My trashiest moment required a little bit of ingenuity. I was touring with a comedic troupe doing small towns and colleges back in the fall of 2002. We were living hand to mouth. The tour would end just before Christmas. I’m from a family of 6, with our in-laws and extended family, that puts us around 13 people to buy for Christmas (we’ve since moved on to choosing names). I knew I wouldn’t be able to get a lot for my family for Christmas, but I did the best that I could that year. Suffice to say, people got some of the weirdest gifts from me that year. My oldest sister got a used bowling pin. We had a show in a bowling alley, and the dressing room was behind the alley and pins, so I took a pin with the owner’s permission. Another sister got a great garage sale find while we were in New Mexico. It was a sculpture of a foot that had a music box in it. She says it’s the best door stop she’s ever had. My brother got an ash tray that John Waters had ashed in, (he has no idea who John Waters is shamefully).

Everyone wanted postcards too. I couldn’t afford them, so I took the local attraction flyers at the hotel and collaged postcards for everyone. Everyone still has them to this day.

So those are some of my trashier moments. I think they were rather ingenious. Please enter me for your Back to Basics giveaway.

thanks,
Cody
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

Leave a Reply

