The green, green grass of home!

Posted: June 7, 2011 by hopejoyandfaithfarm in Around the Homestead

Guess what happens when you don’t mow your yard for awhile, because the riding lawn mower you just paid $150 to fix broke down again?  You get grass up to your knee caps.  So, after hubby mowed the lawn, we had big piles of cut grass, which, if left piled up, will kill all the grass underneath it.  Our orchard gets dry early every summer anyway (we don’t water it), so it doesn’t need any help to speed it along.

This picture does not do the mounds of grass justice.  Imagine this magnified 1000’x.

So, as I was raking, I’m thinking “What do I do with this?” I can’t feed it to the mini-horse (grass cuttings (cut small) are not good for her), but the chickens would like some.

Then, I’ll add some to the composter…

There is still tons left, and I don’t want to throw it over the bank, so… Remember the new beds I showed up, made with discarded bricks.  The weeds were starting to grow up through the center.  I had an idea!

I filled each hole as full as I could with the cut grass.  This will effectively kill the weeds and as it breaks down, I’ll fill the holes with composted manure and I can plant them next year.

The young fruit trees had been taken over by the grass and weeds growing around the base of them.  So, after weeding and cutting it back, I used the grass as a mulch.

Notice the dog in the background, that’s Bella, she’s a camera-hog!

Then, I started gathering up the grass to mulch along the fence rows, hopefully killing the grass growing through the fence, making it easier for hubby to mow and weed-eat.

I’ve done most of this over the last few days and still have probably 15 wheelbarrows or more of grass clippings to rake up.  Our next mower is gonna have  bag on it!

Comments
  1. Desert Cat says:

    Back when I had a garden in Minnesota and had access to heaps of grass clippings (I’m in AZ now, not so much), I used to pile them deep in the paths between my beds. There they would suppress weeds and moulder until fall when I moved the nearly decomposed piles into the garden beds and dug them in.

    Within two years of doing this I had the most incredibly rich soil in those garden beds!

Leave a Reply

