Reusing containers!

Posted: May 31, 2011 by hopejoyandfaithfarm in Kitchen

Not feeling super trashy right now, the truth is, the weather here in Oregon is unseasonably wet.  We get a lot of rain, and I can usually manage to feel motivated to be somewhat functioning, but it’s an overload of the rain and I’m tired of the mud.

So, I walked around my house and opened doors trying to find something frugal and trashy to share with you.  I opened the glass cupboard and voila’ there it was in front of me.

A few weeks ago I had a couple munchkins here wanting to drink some juice. All I had was regular ceramic coffee cups or my Mexican Glass drinking glasses, which are heavy and hard to hold for little hands.  A few years ago, it was almost the opposite.  If someone wanted a grown-up beverage (like a glass of wine or a mixed drink), chances are I served it in a Tom and Jerry plastic glass or a sippy cup.  Gradually, as my kids grew up and moved past the “dropping” stage, I got rid of those.  So, I had nothing light-weight and manageable for the kids to drink out of.

I thought about going and buying some plastic glasses, but we don’t have a dollar store close by and reality is, I really didn’t want to spend the money. I am not working and I have to pay more attention to where my spare change goes.  I was mixing the calf milk when a light bulb went off over my head.  I am a saver of sorts.  I’m not a hoarder by any means, as a matter of fact, I’ve made it a goal to toss things out that I don’t need.  But, I had saved a couple of scoops from the lamb and calf milk replacers and they were out in the feed shed.

The kids seem to like the pictures on them and I don’t have to spend the money to buy safe drinking containers for little hands.  Of course, I did laugh when I noticed Lyndsey (who is 15 years old) drinking her iced tea out of one the other day! She wouldn’t let me get a picture, darn it!

Comments
  1. Shanna says:

    I remember drinking out of those scoops when I was a kid staying at my grandparent’s farm. Grandma let us take those glasses outside even though she had other kid safe glasses in the house. Those were more of our play glasses I guess. Fun memory you brought back. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

