Scavenged Vegie/Flower beds

Posted: May 3, 2011 by hopejoyandfaithfarm in Around the Homestead

I have finally started getting busy on gardening stuff. Our garden area is still too water-logged to plant, but with my husband’s help, we are creating new beds and re-doing established ones around our place. We used to have raised beds in our garden made out of alder logs. They rotted after a couple years, but were cheap and quick. After they rotted, we went back to regular garden. I prefer my raised beds, but hubby likes the “look” of a flat garden.

But I digress. We have grown tomatoes at the back of our garage in a tilled area for about 3 years now. It’s time to move the tomatoes, they’ve pretty much drained the soil.

So, hubby tilled the area and we started working on making an official planting bed (cabbage this year).

I am a scavenger. Hubby hates it. He’s always saying “Why are you saving that?” or “Why the H-E-Double toothpicks did you bring that crap home. These two beds are proof that my scavenging is a valuable asset to us.

These are the beds, created pretty much entirely out of “scavenged” materials (the brick were given to us, as were the poles and cup hooks to hold the deer fencing in place). The deer fencing was saved from an old project, and most of the “filler” was collected from my livestock. I did purchase a couple bags of soil to mix in.

And, we had enough bricks left to build this (actually, this was built first, then I stole a few and put a few more different ones back. I also have some broken pieces saved if we need them for under rabbit cage legs, etc.

Scavenging is fun!

Comments
  1. Jackie says:

    What is it with husbands? Mine hates for me to scavenge. I usually have the trunk of my car filled with stuff I’ve picked up and waiting for an opportune time to sneak them to my garden shed.

    Your raised bed looks great. An extra bonus with the cement blocks is that you can fill the holes with dirt and plant flowers or something that doesn’t have a big root system. One year I used cemnt blocks for the edge of a raised bed and planted onions in the holes.

  2. Katy says:

    If you throw on a coat of fireproof paint or grill paint that would pretty up the fire pit really well!

Leave a Reply

