My name is Phelan, nice to meet you

Posted: April 18, 2011 by emphelan in An Introduction

I guess it is about time that I too introduce myself.

I am a homesteader on the great plains of Kansas. I have been living this lifestyle for the past 10 years. I have been with Husband for 14 years and we have 3 boys. We call them Small, Medium and Large. But collectively they are The Wilder Boys.

We raise critically endangered barn animals, and grow the majority of our own food.

I have written or appeared in various blogs, websites and magazines. I won’t list them all here, but you can find my personal on-going blog here>>> A Homesteading Neophyte. I have been writing that blog for the past 5 years.

I decided to start Girls gone Trashy because of the sheer amount of junk that we as homesteaders (urban, suburban, and rural) tend to accumulate. We do this for various reasons. Our homestead has gathered trash mainly because of the expense of trash service. The further you live out from a town, the harder it is for you to get trash service or the more expensive it becomes. We had to get creative with some of it.

And the main purpose is that I am poor white trash.

After Husband’s lay off almost 3 years ago, we found that just because we had been living below our means, meant that we were not actually living poor enough to sustain a 40% drop in income. We found ways around that. First with the wonderful support of my readers, and then with our personal skills and creativity. And now we have been able to produce a prosperous homestead.

We build as much as we can with the items that we have accumulated. Sometimes your trash home-builds last longer than the store-bought items. Plus it saves you money in the long run.

Girls gone Trashy isn’t just for the homesteader, but for anyone wanting to find information, ideas or help in repurposing items they have or have found. The women here have years of experience in this area. And I am proud to have them on board.

Comments
  1. Really enjoying your blogs. Can’t wait for the next posting. You’re very inspiring. We’re in a similar situation with my husband being disabled & losing his job several years ago. Thankfully blogging has helped us retain a bit of our previous lifestyle & I’ve gotten to make some great friends.

  2. emphelan says:

    Hi Ellen, glad you are enjoying the blogs. I am happy to hear that blogging has helped. I know how difficult it can get. And friends, yes, you just can’t seem to beat the friendships you build when blogging.

Leave a Reply

