Making Do With What You Have

Posted: April 13, 2011 by peggylynn in Around the Homestead

Homesteading is different from hobby farming. When someone chooses to homestead 90% of them have to watch and squeeze every penny. They are choosing homesteading life because they want to be as self sufficient as possible. They want the simple life of growing their own fruit and veggies. They want chickens for eggs and meat. They want goats and/or cows for milk, butter, cheese, yogurt, etc and meat. They know when they choose homesteading its going to be 24/7 365 days a year. They know there isn’t going to be alot of money made and at times there is going to be no money. When there is no money or when homesteaders just want to save money and pinch those pennies just a little bit harder they make do with what they have laying around when they start a project. Needless to say this homesteader squeezes those pennies so hard Lincoln screams like a girl! There is always and I mean always a need for more shelters for the animals around here. Instead of going to Lowe’s for supplies and spending money I don’t have I used what I had. I found several large metal signs in a dump pile several years ago. They make perfect roofs for the dog and goat houses.

In the same dump I found a box that held pamplets. It had a door on the front but I turned it around and cut a hole in the back for a laying box for the hens. I can open the door and get the eggs out.

When I needed a hay manger I used the metal head and foot board of a old baby crib found on the curb with someone’s trash.

 Needed a milking stanchion was a easy fix. Took a old solid wood coffee table found on the curb with someone’s trash and used scrap wood we always have from pallets, old fences, pieces we pick up from the  recycle place or get for free off Craigs List and in a hour and a half it was ready to use.

I have always loved taking things found in the trash and making it into something I could use but since I decided to homestead I truly say I am a Girl Gone Trashy!

Comments
  1. emphelan says:

    Husband loves the roof sings. And I think the laying box is great!

  2. JoyceAnn says:

    Great ideas , glad you shared them.

Leave a Reply

